Cheatham division

Stephanie Celebrates Homeownership


Cheatham Habitat for Humanity

“They are putting up houses everywhere that I can’t afford,” says Stephanie glancing around the Habitat for Humanity Homeowner Academy. “The ones I can afford are gone before I can get to them.” Stephanie has been looking for a house to buy for the past several years for her and her 11-year-old son. “But with the interest rates, it just put the monthly payment out of reach. I don’t want to be ‘house poor." Stephanie worked hard for the opportunity to own her own home and she is now a proud Habitat homeowner!

Habitat’s homeownership program was familiar to Stephanie as she had volunteered on Habitat builds before but she never thought about Habitat as a homeownership opportunity. “An amazing friend had heard about my struggle to find an affordable house here in Cheatham County, so he brought me an application and encouraged me to fill it out as soon as possible,” Stephanie relates.

Homeownership to Stephanie means she and her son can stay in Cheatham County. To her son, it means he will have a place to invite friends to play and sleepover. Stephanie says she hasn’t had a place of her own since 2012. “This is where my son has been raised, my parents live, and this is where I want to stay.” Stephanie has worked for Walmart since 2012 where she worked her way up from a cashier’s position to lead pharmacy tech.  She also attends Bellevue University and is working on her bachelor’s degree in business management. She is searching for stable, long-term housing for her family. “Consistency is important in any child’s life but my son’s father, who was in the Army, suffered severe PTSD. He promised to come see our son and nine years later hasn’t seem him to this day.” To her sponsors she says, “Thank you a million times over for your generosity, dedication, and heart that goes into the work behind building a Habitat home.”

Sponsors: HCA Foundation, RBS, Inc., TN Homebuyers, Reliant Bank, U.S. Bank Foundation, Johnny and Paula Melton,  R.E. West Transportation, Inc.


Cheatham Houses of Hope date is set for October 27. Mark your calendars!

History of Cheatham Habitat for Humanity

When Habitat of Greater Nashville worked to help residents in Cheatham County after the devastating floods of 2010, it became evident that the work was far from finished. A desire to have a permanent advocate for quality, affordable housing turned into the Cheatham Habitat. This commitment, along with many other volunteers and donors, saw the completion of Cheatham County's first Habitat house in 2011 and as of 2019 eight Habitat homes have been built for hardworking families in Cheatham County.

Cheatham Community Board

Keith Auville
Shayne Bell
Stephen Carr
Valerie Kemp
Teresa Eads
Tony Gross
Marianne Isbell
Patty Kennedy


Mary Littleton
Chris Moore
Dan Moore
Jennifer Noe
Larry Roberts
Edward Wansing
Darrell White
Jack Kapanka
Dianne Williams